Feast of Samuel Rodigast (March 20)   Leave a comment

Collegium_Jenense

Above:  University of Jena, Circa 1600

Image in the Public Domain

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

SAMUEL RODIGAST (OCTOBER 19, 1649-MARCH 19, 1708)

German Lutheran Academic and Hymn Writer

Samuel Rodigast, son of a German Lutheran minister at Groben (near Jena), graduated with his Master of Arts degree from the University of Jena in 1671.  Five years later he joined the faculty as an Instructor of Philosophy.  In 1680 he became joint Rector of Grayfriars Gymnasium, Berlin.  Eighteen years later he was the sole Rector.  Rodigast retained that post until he died, turning down other job offers for a decade.

The Legacy of Samuel Rodigast seems to rest heavily or primarily on one hymn.  In 1675 a friend, Severus Gastorius, was seriously ill.  The Catherine Winkworth translation of Rodigast’s great hymn follows:

Whate’er my God ordains is right;

His holy will abideth;

I will be still, whate’er He doth,

And follow where He guideth.

He is my God;

Though dark my road,

He holds me that I shall not fall;

Wherefore to Him I leave it all.

+++++

Whate’er my God ordains is right;

He never will deceive me;

He leads me by the proper path;

I know He will not leave me,

And take, content,

What He hath sent;

His hand can turn my griefs away,

And patiently I want His day.

+++++

Whate’er my God ordains is right;

Here shall my stand be taken;

Though sorrow, need, or death be mine,

Yet I am not forsaken;

My Father’s care

Is round me there;

He holds me that I shall not fall,

And so to Him I leave it all.

Gastorius composed the hymn tune.  And Rodigast’s text has comforted many people for centuries.

KENNETH RANDOLPH TAYLOR

AUGUST 22, 2013 COMMON ERA

THE FEAST OF RAYMOND E. BROWN, BIBLE SCHOLAR

THE FEAST OF LUCA MARENZIO, COMPOSER

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Dear God of beauty,

you have granted literary ability and spiritual sensitivity to

Samuel Rodigast and others, who have composed hymn texts.

May we, as you guide us,

find worthy hymn texts to be icons,

through which we see you.

In the Name of God:  Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Sirach/Ecclesiasticus 44:1-3a, 5-15

Psalm 147

Revelation 5:11-14

Luke 2:8-20

KENNETH RANDOLPH TAYLOR

APRIL 20, 2013 COMMON ERA

THE FEAST OF SAINTS AMATOR OF AUXERRE AND GERMANUS OF AUXERRE, ROMAN CATHOLIC BISHOPS; SAINT MAMERTINUS OF AUXERRE, ROMAN CATHOLIC ABBOT; AND SAINT MARCIAN OF AUXERRE, ROMAN CATHOLIC MONK

THE FEAST OF JOHANNES BUGENHAGEN, GERMAN LUTHERAN PASTOR

THE FEAST OF SAINT MARCELLINUS OF EMBRUN, ROMAN CATHOLIC BISHOP

THE FEAST OF OLAVUS AND LAURENTIUS PETRI, RENEWERS OF THE CHURCH

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This is post #1600 of SUNDRY THOUGHTS.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Leave a Reply

