Feast of Christian Keimann (January 13)   1 comment

Zittau

Above:  Zittau, Saxony, Germany, Between 1890 and 1900

Image Source = Library of Congress

Reproduction Number = LC-DIG-ppmsca-00986

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

CHRISTIAN KEIMANN (FEBRUARY 27, 1607-JANUARY 13, 1662)

German Lutheran Hymn Writer

Christian Keimann entered the world at Pankratz, Bohemia, where his father, Zacharias Keimann, served as the Lutheran pastor.  Our saint studied at the University of Wittenberg from 1627 to 1634, graduating with his M.A. degree.  From 1627 to 1638 he served as the co-rector of the school at Zittau; he became the rector in 1638.  At Zittau Keimann became a distinguished teacher and an author of books about mathematics, logic, rhetoric, Latin, and Greek.

The Thirty Years’ War (1618-1648) affected Keimann’s family adversely.  His family–mother, father, five brothers, and sister–had to flee Bohemia for Zittau while our saint was teaching there and studying at Wittenberg.

Keimann also wrote on religious themes.  Bible-based plays and thirteen hymns flowed from his pen.  As far as I can determine translators have rendered only two of our saint’s hymns into English.  I have added “Oh Rejoice, Ye Christians, Loudly” (1646) to my GATHERED PRAYERS weblog.  The Lutheran Hymnal (1941) included the following, composite translation of another hymn, one from 1658:

Jesus I will never leave,

Who for me Himself hath given;

Firmly unto Him I’ll cleave,

Not from Him be ever driven.

Life from Him doth light receive,

Jesus I will never leave.

+++++

Jesus I will never leave,

While on earth I am abiding;

What I have to Him I give,

In all cares in Him confiding.

Naught shall me of Him bereave,

Jesus I will never leave.

+++++

Tho’ my sight shall pass away,

Hearing, taste, and feeling fail me;

Tho’ my life’s last light of day

Shall o’er take and sore assail me;

When His summons I receive,

Jesus I will never leave.

+++++

Nor will I my Jesus leave

When at last I shall come thither

Where His saints He will receive,

Where in bliss they live together.

Endless joy to me He’ll give,–

Jesus I will never leave.

+++++

Not for earth’s vain joys I crave

Nor without Him, heaven’s pleasure;

Jesus, who my soul did save,

Evermore shall be my Treasure.

He redemption did achieve,–

Jesus I will never leave.

Our saint died at Zittau on January 13, 1662, shortly after suffering a stroke.

KENNETH RANDOLPH TAYLOR

JANUARY 18, 2015 COMMON ERA

THE FEAST OF THE CONFESSION OF SAINT PETER THE APOSTLE

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Dear God of beauty,

you have granted literary ability and spiritual sensitivity to

Christian Keimann and others, who have composed hymn texts.

May we, as you guide us,

find worthy hymn texts to be icons,

through which we see you.

In the Name of God:  Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Sirach/Ecclesiasticus 44:1-3a, 5-15

Psalm 147

Revelation 5:11-14

Luke 2:8-20

KENNETH RANDOLPH TAYLOR

APRIL 20, 2013 COMMON ERA

THE FEAST OF SAINTS AMATOR OF AUXERRE AND GERMANUS OF AUXERRE, ROMAN CATHOLIC BISHOPS; SAINT MAMERTINUS OF AUXERRE, ROMAN CATHOLIC ABBOT; AND SAINT MARCIAN OF AUXERRE, ROMAN CATHOLIC MONK

THE FEAST OF JOHANNES BUGENHAGEN, GERMAN LUTHERAN PASTOR

THE FEAST OF SAINT MARCELLINUS OF EMBRUN, ROMAN CATHOLIC BISHOP

THE FEAST OF OLAVUS AND LAURENTIUS PETRI, RENEWERS OF THE CHURCH

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

One response to “Feast of Christian Keimann (January 13)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Oh, Rejoice, Ye Christians, Loudly | GATHERED PRAYERS

Leave a Reply

